Menu Twitter Facebook Search
Twitter Facebook Search

Winners 2009

Junior Sports Personality of the Year

Presenter: Sarah White, Cumbrian Newspapers Group

Winner: Sebastian Crookall-Nixon (Cockermouth)

Rising Star Awards

Presenter: Cllr Mike McVeigh, Deputy Mayor of Copeland Borough Council.

  • Ryan Shaw (Ulverston)
  • Frazer Minnican (Ulverston)
  • Abbie Hetherington (Wigton)
  • Maxwell O’Hara (Ulverston)
  • James Knox (Kendal)

Junior Team of the Year Award

Presenter: Cllr Jill Heath, Young People’s Spokesperson, Barrow Borough Council
Winner: Duddon Youth Wild Water Racing Team (Scott Wilson, Coach) (Barrow)

Team of the Year Award

Presenter: Cllr Mary Robinson, Portfolio Holder for Community Services, Eden District Council
Winner: Barrow Raiders Rugby League Club (Head Coach, Dave Clark and Captain, Gary Broadbent)

Performance Award for Person with a Disability

Presenter: Mr David McNerney, Sellafield Ltd
Winner: Dean Kelly (Barrow)

Coach of the Year

Presenter: Alison Mowbray (Olympic Rowing Silver Medalist)
Winner: Stephen Hughes (Workington)

Volunteer of the Year

Presenter: Liam Burns, New Balance Athletics Shoes Ltd

Winner: Niall Holmes (Haverigg)

Young Sports Leader of the Year

Presenter: Alan Johnston, Armstrong Watson.
Winner: Jemma Bell (Ulverston)

Service to Sport Award

Presenter: Peter Temple, Operations Director, Cumberland Building Society
Winner: Mike Liptrott (Kendal)

Special Award

Presenter: Cllr Brendan Jameson, Leader of South Lakeland District Council
Winner: Posthumous award to Derek Lacey (BBC Radio Cumbria) collected by Paul Newton & James Phillips (BBC Radio Cumbria)

Performance of the Year Award

Presenter: Steve Pattinson, Longhorn.
Winner: Cumbria Union of Golf Clubs, (Captain Cliff Heath)

Sports Personality of the Year

Presenter: Cllr Roger Bingham, Chairman of Cumbria County Council
Winner: David Hughes (Carlisle)

Be Inspired Award

Presenter: Jonathan Edwards (Olympic Triple Jump Champion and Deputy Chair of the London 2012 Nations and Regions Group)
Winner: Dean Kelly (Barrow)